



Doc. 13968 28 January 2016

Towards a fourth Council of Europe Summit

Motion for a recommendation

tabled by Ms Dzhema GROZDANOVA and other members of the Assembly

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only those who have signed it

The Parliamentary Assembly reaffirms its Declaration, adopted on 27 November 2015 in Sofia by its Standing Committee.

The Assembly is fully convinced that the political challenges Europe is facing today, both within and around its borders, require common responses on the basis of shared principles and values, which are the foundations of European Unity and co-operation.

The Assembly stresses once again the role played by the Council of Europe in defending and promoting human rights, democracy, rule of law and democratic security.

The Assembly therefore calls upon the Committee of Ministers to hold a fourth Council of Europe Summit of Heads of State and Government to confirm and strengthen at the highest political level the commitments of member States to the common European values and principles upheld by the Organisation, and to give a common response to the contemporary challenges and problems.

The Assembly expresses its readiness to be involved in the discussion of the Agenda of the Summit during its preparation and to provide viewpoints on the format of a Forum for dialogue, where members of national parliaments from the European Union member States could discuss the future of Europe and reach a consent on possible ways for solving problems together with those who are not members of the European Union.

Signed (see overleaf)

Doc. 13968 Motion for a recommendation

Signed¹:

GROZDANOVA Dzhema, Bulgaria, EPP/CD ÅBERG Boriana, Sweden, EPP/CD ARIEV Volodymyr, Ukraine, EPP/CD BADEA Viorel Riceard, Romania, EPP/CD BAKOYANNIS Theodora, Greece, EPP/CD CORLĂŢEAN Titus, Romania, SOC DUNDEE Alexander, [The Earl of], United Kingdom, EC FISCHER Axel E., Germany, EPP/CD GHILETCHI Valeriu, Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD HAMID Hamid, Bulgaria, ALDE KANDELAKI Giorgi, Georgia, EPP/CD KIRILOV Danail, Bulgaria, EPP/CD KOX Tiny, Netherlands, UEL LIDDELL-GRAINGER Ian, United Kingdom, EC MULLEN Rónán, Ireland, EPP/CD NÉMETH Zsolt, Hungary, EPP/CD NICOLETTI Michele, Italy, SOC POZZO DI BORGO Yves, France, EPP/CD PREDA Cezar Florin, Romania, EPP/CD SIMEONOV Valeri, Bulgaria, EC STOILOV Yanaki, Bulgaria, SOC VAREIKIS Egidijus, Lithuania, EPP/CD VILLUMSEN Nikolaj, Denmark, UEL XUCLÀ Jordi, Spain, ALDE

EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party SOC: Socialist Group ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe EC: European Conservatives Group UEL: Group of the Unified European Left NR: Representatives not belonging to a Political Group